Meet Our Faculty

Vikas R. Dharnidharka, M.D., M.P.H
Division Chief

Aadil Kakajiwala, M.D.
T. Keefe Davis, M.D.
Carmen Halabi, M.D., Ph.D.
S. Paul Hmiel, M.D., Ph.D.
Keith A. Hruska, M.D.
Tara Neumayr , M.D.
Toshifumi Sugatani, Ph.D.


Kevin Barton, M.D.

Nurse Practitioners

Kira Geile, MSN, RN, CPNP
Brandy Markley, RN, CPNP
Kathleen Sisco MSN, RN, CPNP

Nurse Coordinators

Ruth Orschell, RN
Pat Wiltsch, RN

Clinical Research Coordinator

Leslie Walther


The Division of Pediatric Nephrology of the Department of Pediatrics at Washington University School of Medicine has outstanding capabilities in cutting-edge research, trainee education and all levels of clinical patient care. Links on this page provide additional descriptions of each of these missions. As September 1, 2016, the division comprises eight faculty members, one fellow, three nurse practitioners and two nurse coordinators.

The division provides comprehensive treatment for children who suffer from kidney or genito-urologic disorders, both acute and chronic. This includes evaluation, specialized testing, education and ongoing care, such as the provision of dialysis and kidney transplantation as treatment for chronic kidney disease. Our program is based at St. Louis Children's Hospital, a consistently top 10 hospital in the national US News and World report and a top 5 hospital in the last Parents magazine ratings. Washington University School of Medicine has consistently been ranked a top-5 medical school in the USA. The pediatric nephrology division works closely with outstanding programs in Adult Nephrology, Pediatric Urology and Transplant Surgery.

From our group, the following doctors have been regularly selected (by confidential peer nomination only) in the list of Best Doctors in America:

  • Dr. Keith Hruska - continuously from 2004 to 2016
  • Dr. Paul Hmiel - continuously from 2005 to 2016
  • Dr. Vikas Dharnidharka - continuously from 2007 to 2016

Current faculty members hold leadership positions in national societies or in the local institution. Dr. Keith Hruska is the President of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research for 2011-12. Dr. Vikas Dharnidharka was the chair of the Scientific Program Committee for the 2012 annual meeting of the American Society of Pediatric Nephrology.

Several past and current faculty members have received major national achievement awards:

  • Dr. Keith Hruska is an elected member of the prestigious American Society of Clinical Investigation since 1981.
  • Dr. Vikas Dharnidharka received a peer-nominated mid career achievement award (Established Investigator Award in Clinical Science) from the American - Society of Transplantation in 2012.
  • Dr. Barbara Cole, former division director, received the Founders award for lifetime achievement from the American Society of Pediatric Nephrology in 2008.
  • Pediatric nurse practitioner Meg Shea was elected in January 2013 to serve a 3-year term on the Medical Review Board of Heartland Kidney Network 12. This network, operating under a federal contract, serves as an expert resource for patients, providers, and partners in the end-stage kidney disease community to advance the quality of kidney care in the 4 states of Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Iowa.

Contact Us

Vikas R. Dharnidharka
Division Chief

Paul Hmiel
Training Program Director

Michelle McKnight
Director of Clinical Operations

Wendy Maness

Kathy Kiefer
Administrative Coordinator

(309) 286-1574 (Voice)
(314) 286-2351 (Fax)

Patients and Parents
(314) 454-6043 (Voice)
(314) 454-4283 (Fax)
(888) 503-2237 (Toll-free)

Physician Referrals
(314) 454-6043 (Voice)
(314) 454-4283 (Fax)
(800) 678-4357 (Toll-free)

U.S. Mail
Washington University
School of Medicine
Department of Pediatrics
Division of Nephrology
660 S. Euclid Ave.,
Campus Box 8116
St. Louis, MO 63110-1093

Wash U School of Medicine
Children's Hospital St. Louis
Children's Discovery Institute
© 2017 by Washington University in St. Louis
One Brookings Drive, St. Louis, MO 63130