May 2024 Funded Awards

Amy Armstrong, Juliane Bubeck Wardenburg, Charles Canter, Samuel Cortez, Trevor Davis, Kimberly Donica, Andrew Glatz, Christina Gurnett, Ronald Rubenstein, Margaret Shatara, Kathryn Spectorsky, Mythili Srinivasan and Gregory Storch

PI Agency Title Amy Armstrong SLCH Foundation / Hyundai Hope on Wheels SFY24- HHOW Impact – Hyundai Hope on Wheels: Impact Award Juliane Bubeck Wardenburg Harrington Discovery Institute/Scholar Innovator Novel Maternal Staphylococcus aureus vaccine to provide infant protection Charles Canter SLCH Foundation Tuttle & Hauck Chair Samuel Cortez CDTR Changes in Metabolic milieu after initiation […]

New Hires June 2024

Welcome new hires!

Name Division Title Imani Anderson Allergy & Pulmonary Medicine Non-Appointees Shiante Banks Ambulatory Medicine Patient Care Associate II Isaac Bednarski Hematology & Oncology Visiting Program Participant Fredrick Birnbaum Residency Resident Artrice Bolden Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition Agency Temp Chase Boushard Nephrology, Hypertension & Apheresis Visiting Program Participant Anna Cernich Infectious Diseases Visiting Program Participant Reece […]

Donor-derived cell-free DNA shows potential for early detection kidney transplant rejection

Findings from a study published in Nature Medicine show donor-derived cell-free DNA (dd-cfDNA), also called liquid biopsy, has the potential for early detection of kidney transplant rejection. The international study enrolled a diverse population of nearly 3,000 kidney transplant recipients — both adult and pediatric — from 14 transplantation centers in Europe and the U.S. […]

Physician-scientists receive Scholar-Innovator award (Links to an external site)

Juliane Bubeck Wardenburg, MD, PhD (left), and Russell Pachynski, MD, both of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, have been honored with the 2024 Scholar-Innovator Award from the Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals in Cleveland.

Juliane Bubeck Wardenburg, MD, PhD, and Russell Pachynski, MD, both of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, have been honored with the 2024 Scholar-Innovator Award from the Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals in Cleveland. They are among 10 physician-scientists nationwide recognized for leading innovative research with potential to advance standard of clinical care.

New Hires May 2024

Welcome new hires!

Name Division Title Joseph Christopher Basse Hematology & Oncology Laboratory Assistant I/Glasswasher Hannah S Chen Newborn Medicine Undergraduate Student Brianna Conway Ambulatory Medicine LPN Julie Gaylord Hospital Medicine Administrative Coordinator I Jane Hopkins Nephrology & Apheresis Clinical Nurse Coordinator Evelyn Iran Oropeza Adolescent Medicine Collaborating Investigator Sylvia Ray Ambulatory Medicine Medical Assistant II Devyn Lauryn […]

Funded Awards April 2024

PI Agency Title Tarin Bigley Washington University/RDRRC Identifying mechanisms of thymic disruption in MRV-induced autoimmunity Megan Cooper SLCH Foundation/Research Grant Jeffrey Modell Diagnostic and Research Center for Primary Immunodeficiencies at St. Louis Children’s Hospital Kim Liss BJH Foundation/Designated Funding Request Adipose-Liver Crosstalk in Hepatic Ischemia Reperfusion Injury Jeffrey Magee NIH/R01 The role of KIDA1 in […]

Staff feature Lynn Cowan

Lynn Cowan

Lynn Cowan grew up in Green Bay, Wisconsin, and she loves everything about the state of Wisconsin! She loves the Packers, Brewers, Friday Fish Boils and the beautiful summers. She loved the winters as a child, but as she grew older, the long winters just seemed to get longer and longer. Cowan attended Marquette University […]

Orscheln appointed Pediatric Vice Chair of Community Health and Strategic Planning

Rachel Orscheln

Rachel C. Orscheln, MD, professor of Pediatrics and director of ambulatory Pediatric Infectious Diseases at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has been appointed the vice chair of Community Health and Strategic Planning for the Department of Pediatrics, effective June 1, 2024. In this pivotal role, Orscheln will act as a crucial link […]

Seven Pediatrics faculty honored at WashU Celebration of Inventors 2024 (Links to an external site)

WashU Celebration of Inventors 2024

On April 25, 2024, the Office of Technology Management hosted the seventh annual Celebration of Inventors, an event to honor and recognize Washington University inventors, researchers and faculty entrepreneurs.  Honorees included 2023 United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) awardees; National Academy of Inventors Fellows and Senior Members; and the recipient of the 2024 Chancellor’s […]

Garwood appointed interim division chief of Adolescent Medicine

Sarah Garwood

Sarah Garwood, MD, professor of Pediatrics, has been appointed interim division chief of the Division of Adolescent Medicine for the Department of Pediatrics at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Garwood obtained her medical degree from the University of Missouri in Columbia.  Following internship and residency in Pediatrics at St. Louis Children’s Hospital, […]