Perlmutter one of nine WashU faculty elected to AAAS (Links to an external site)

Dean Perlmutter

Nine faculty members at Washington University in St. Louis are among the 502 new fellows selected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), one of the most distinct honors in the scientific community. The 2023 class includes: Deanna Barch, Laura Bierut, Kendall Blumer, Andreas Burkhalter, Jennifer Heemstra, Kathleen McDermott, Jeffrey Miner, Camillo Padoa-Schioppa and David Perlmutter. It is also the 150th year […]

Glatz installed as Louis Larrick Ward Chair in Pediatric Cardiology

(Pictured left to right) Dean Perlmutter, Andy Glatz, Trish Lollo, Gary Silverman

Andrew Glatz, MD, MSCE, was installed as the Louis Larrick Ward Chair in Pediatric Cardiology for the Department of Pediatrics at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. At a ceremony celebrating the event on April 4, 2024, Glatz, a professor of Pediatrics, presented the talk titled, “Collaborative Multi-Center Clinical Research in Pediatric Cardiovascular […]

Funded Awards February 2024

Manish Aggarwal, Kevin Basses, Juliane Bubeck Wardenburg, Vikas Dharnidharka, Jorge Di Paola, Patricia Dickson, Kimberly Donica, Robert Hayashi, Lawrence Hudson-Lewis, Allison King, Lance Peterson, Gregory Storch and Phillip Tarr

Name Agency Title Manish Aggarwal SLCH Foundation  Ollie Tschudin Family Research Fund Kevin Baszis SLCH Foundation  Point of care musculoskeletal ultrasound in Pediatric Rheumatology Juliane Bubeck Wardenburg NIH/R21 Novel Bacteroides fragilis Competition Factor in Carbapenem-Resistant Strains Vikas Dharnidharka NIH/R01 Choosing Immune Suppression in Renal Transplantation by Efficacy and Morbidity2 (CISTEM2) Jorge Di Paola SLCH Foundation  […]

New Hires March 2024

Welcome new hires!

Name Division Title Courtney Cape Central Admin Business & Technology Application Analyst III Tonie Cates Infectious Diseases Case Worker I Sherice Davis Ambulatory Medicine Medical Assistant III Zachary Paul Fryda Central Admin Resident – Tutor Katlyn Hoerz Ambulatory Medicine Medical Assistant III Shamari Logan Infectious Diseases Case Worker II Abass Oduola Infectious Diseases Postdoc Research […]

Staff Feature Beth Colombo

Beth Colombo is a St. Louis native and grew up in the city. She attended Rockhurst University for undergrad majoring in nonprofit leadership.  In 2012, she moved to Boston and joined a program called the Jesuit Volunteer Corps. This program was a one-year volunteer commitment, working at a domestic violence shelter. During this year, she lived with five […]

Bubeck Wardenburg appointed executive vice chair

Juliane Bubeck Wardenburg, MD, PhD, the Donald B. Strominger Professor of Pediatrics and chief of Pediatric Critical Care at Washington University Department of Pediatrics, has been appointed the executive vice chair. She has demonstrated expertise in improving, expanding and refining clinical operations to improve the overall care of children. She will assist the Department of Pediatrics […]

Hunstad appointed vice chair of basic and translational research

David Hunstad, MD, the Arnold W. Strauss, MD, Endowed Professor for Mentoring, Professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Microbiology, and Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Washington University Department of Pediatrics has been appointed the vice chair of basic and translational research. In this role, Hunstad will work with the administrative team to oversee […]