Dickson among Association of American Physicians 2024 Elected Members

Patricia Dickson

Patricia Dickson, MD, was one of only 70 people elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP) for 2024. According to the AAP, members have included “Nobel laureates and members of the United States National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine.” Three Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis faculty joined […]

Two pediatricians awarded grants as part of ICTS’s Clinical and Translational Research Funding Program

Brian DeBosch and Sarah Greene

Washington University Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences (ICTS) and The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital have awarded Brian DeBosch, MD, PhD, and Sarah Greene, MD, PhD, grants as part of the 17th annual Clinical and Translational Research Funding Program (CTRFP). This program is the largest internal grant funding program in the ICTS, requiring applicants to […]

5 physician-scientists named to newest class of Dean’s Scholars (Links to an external site)

The Division of Physician-Scientists at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis has announced its fifth class of Dean’s Scholars. They are (top, from left): R. Alex Harbison, MD, and Joshua Siner, MD; and (bottom, from left) Carol M. Kao, MD; Dzmitry Matsiukevich, MD; and David F. Butler, MD.

Physicians who pursue research often play a key role in the discovery of new, innovative approaches to diagnosing and treating patients. The Dean’s Scholars initiative at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis aims to nurture the careers of such doctors so they can more easily treat patients while also pursuing laboratory-based biomedical research.

3 Pediatric physicians named 2024 Dean’s Scholars

2024 Dean's Scholars

Three providers from the Washington University Department of Pediatrics were named as 2024 Dean’s Scholars: Congratulations to all five recipients! The Dean’s Scholars program supports outstanding MD-only individuals committed to a career as a physician-scientist. This program alleviates the scholar’s financial stress and provides them with mentorship, institutional support, and the protected time necessary to […]

Sadler recipient of 2024 RPTH Editor’s Award

Brooke Sadler

Research and Practice in Thrombosis and Haemostasis (RPTH) has announced Brooke Sadler, PhD, as a recipient of the 2024 RPTH Editor’s Award for her article titled, “Characterization of copy-number variants in a large cohort of patients with von Willebrand disease reveals a relationship between disrupted regions and disease type.” The awards are “presented annually to […]

Mullin selected as Stanley Lang Teacher of the Year

Stanley Lang Teacher of the Year

The Department of Pediatrics is proud to share Jonathan Mullin, MD, was selected by the Washington University School of Medicine Phase 1 students as the “Stanley Lang Teacher of the Year” for teaching in 2023. Medical students present the Distinguished Service Teaching Awards to faculty and house staff in appreciation for exemplary service in medical […]

Bigley, Schwartz honored with 2024 ASCI Young Physician-Scientist Awards

Tarin Bigley and Drew Schwartz

Tarin M. Bigley, MD, PhD, and Drew J. Schwartz, MD, PhD, were among 52 awardees who were honored with The American Society for Clinical Investigation’s (ASCI) 2024 Young Physician-Scientist Awards. Three physician-scientists from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis won the award. The award recognizes physician-scientists early in their first faculty appointments who […]

Dharnidharka honored with National Kidney Foundation’s 2023 Award of Excellence

Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH

Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH, was the recipient of the 2023 National Kidney Foundation Award of Excellence. It is the local market’s highest honor, recognizing those who had made significant contributions to the field of kidney disease. Dharnidharka has been recognized in gratitude for his faithful service and dedication to his patients and his esteemed medical […]

Baldridge receives Avenir Award for early-career scientists (Links to an external site)

Dustin Baldridge

Dustin Baldridge, MD, PhD, an assistant professor of pediatrics at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has received a 2023 Avenir Award in Genetics and Epigenetics of Substance Use from the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). The award is given to early-career scientists proposing highly innovative studies and showing promise of being leaders in […]